Shadows

I apologize for the lag in posting, but I have been busy this week and was traveling last week. All the trainees left Kanye to shadow current volunteers, and get a glimpse of a day in the life. I went North to a village on the Okavango river, which is 16 hours away from Gaborone by bus. I don’t recommend taking that trip very often. I did get to see a lot of the country and overnight in Maun, which is a larger, touristy spot in the delta. The change of scenery was a welcome break in our training, and I got to cook my own delicious food. The volunteer I shadowed had a different job title than I do, but I got a feel of the village life and possible projects. The reality of shadowing was that I got to visualize myself in a smaller village. Aside from spending 4 days on a bus, I enjoyed the experience. Now cross your fingers for a good site!

Our group has now lost 3 members, all for different reasons. It’s another form of a wake-up call in our service – this job isn’t for everyone. We’re also going to go through things that test us on an individual level, which isn’t necessarily the case at this point. The bubble of pre-service training will disappear on June 7 when we leave for site. I wish all the best to our departed Bots 10ers.

Meanwhile, the rest of the group is doing well. We’re about halfway through training and less than a week until we find out our site placements. In the states, spring is probably out in full force. People are finishing up semesters and graduating and moving… It’s all constant change, and here is no different. My latest assessment is that the group is reaching a point in training that makes us all a little tired of the routine. As predicted, the rigorous schedule has worn us down quite a bit, and many of us are ready to get to site and put the theory we’re learning into action, not to mention having the freedom to do what we want when we want. Fortunately, with site announcements coming, we’ll have another chance to get out pretty soon.

As this is mother’s day, I want to give a shout-out to all of my mothers who read this blog. And also remind them, and everyone else of my mailing address, in case you want to send me mail – all of which is appreciated:

Jeremy Hardy
Peace Corps Botswana
Private Bag 00243
Gaborone, Botswana

Cheers

4 thoughts on “Shadows

  1. Megan says:

    Good to Hear from you Jer! Glad it sounds like things are going well for you so far. I will keep my fingers crossed that you end up with a good site too! I’m enjoying hearing about everything you’ve encountered so far and admire your courage for going into the unknown so far from home.

    Take Care,
    Megan

  2. Billy the Battle Paddle says:

    Our bedsheet art inspired my friend Chris to make bedsheet art of a sea monster overturning a ship on choppy waters. He thanks you for inspiration.

    -Arun

    PS – last couple weeks have been a shit show for me. I promise I’ll contact you soon!

Leave a comment